THE ROCK

lafayette compound 008

“I am a rock.”    Paul Simon.”

Imagine a rock, a mountainous boulder hurtling through space. Such a crumb of infinity would, if endowed with minimal intelligence, repeat over and over “I am a rock, seeking my destiny, piercing the void at the fastest possible speed, deviating from my path, never at all. I will continue on this perfectly straight, flawlessly, narrow course until I reach my-as yet unknown goal.”

This narcissistic traveler would have no information available to aid it in the discovery that it had, trillions of years earlier, fallen into the gravitational control of an immeasurably vast ball of gas which would someday burn itself into ultimate darkness taking with it this orbiting rock-o-naut and all other space crumbs within orbiting range.

lee_broom
Lee Broom

Leave a Reply

